The Legend of the Taken Ones: Gateskin Chronicles Book 1 won a Book Excellence Award Finalist!

I am honored to receive this latest award from Book Excellence Awards! Thank you, Book Excellence! It’s always exciting to receive an award for one of my books!

Book Excellence Awards HonoreeFINALIST

The Legend of the Taken Ones (Gateskin Chronicles Book 1) - Fantasy

The Legend of the Taken Ones (Gateskin Chronicles Book 1) – Fantasy

Product Details

Book Title: The Legend of the Taken Ones (Gateskin Chronicles Book 1)

Author Name: Janice Spina

Here is the link below to check it out. See what other readers are saying about this epic fantasy series. More books will be coming later in 2023 and beyond.

Reviews from Amazon:

Reviewed By Emily-Jane Hills Orford for Readers’ Favorite
Within the Territory of Noella Provence, there was a kingdom, Sovorotskina, known as the Land of Goodness and Light. It was ruled by the great wizard King Gateskin and his fairy queen wife, Solinara. They had three children, Serena, Simon, and Catalina, all with special magical powers. They had to keep the magic secret as there was an evil power in a nearby kingdom, in the land of Parotovina, the Land of Darkness. This evil power once stole an entire village’s children to claim the magic for their own people, to use this magic for evil. When King Gateskin is kidnapped, Serena and her siblings combine their powers and resources, enlisting the help of a new friend, a Sprite by the name of Spindle, to rescue the king as well as the descendants of those “taken” children. 

Janice Spina’s young adult novel, The Legend of the Taken Ones, is the first book in a six-book fantasy series, The Gateskin Chronicles. With an exciting plot full of magic and the conflicting powers of good and evil, this story is a real page-turner. The story begins with background information on the taken ones, the children kidnapped by the evil powers of Parotovina. Knowing that evil continues to lurk nearby, the magical kingdom of King Gateskin is always on high alert. The adventure truly begins when the king is kidnapped and the children set out on a journey of their own, intent on rescuing their father and leader. This is an epic, high-fantasy adventure that follows in the time-tested style of Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings: the ongoing battles between good and evil and the true magic that is found within one’s heart and in the bonds of family and friendship.

The Legend of the Taken Ones: Gateskin Chronicles Book 1 by Janice Spina
5 Stars: With power comes responsibility!

‘THE LEGEND OF THE TAKEN ONES’ is book one of six planned in the ‘Gateskin Chronicles’. Award-winning Author, Janice Spina, is writing this fantasy series for ages 13-17, but I can attest to the fact, adults will enjoy it too.

Serena Anya (age 14 is the heroine of story, sister to Simon Andolferan (age 12) and Catalina Leahna (age 10). Their mother is Solinara; Queen Fairy of Sovorotskina. Their father is Gateskin; King Wizard of Sovorotskina. Serena has the power to move objects with her mind. Simon can fly, and Catalina can become invisible. With these powers comes responsibility.

Sovorotskina (Land of Goodness & Light) was one of the villages that make up the Territory of Noella Province (later known as Votovia). The other villages are Votovia (Land of Magic & Mystery), Merona (Land of Peace & Harmony), Merlina (Land of Myths & Legends), Amora (Land of Faith & Love), and Parotovina (Land of Evil & Darkness).

I think to understand the story you must understand the ‘Votovians’. The Votovians were feared by other villages that did not have fairies and wizards. The Votovian children were taught these five simple rules in Votovian School from the age of four. They used rhymes and simple language so that the youngest children could understand the rules.

Rule#1: Never use your powers to hurt anyone (not even to injure, move or hurt even flowers).
Rule#2: Help your fellow villagers out in any way you can.
Rule#3: Always band together for the common good.
Rule#4: Above all, protect the children. If danger comes, fast we will flee, and stay together using our powers only in an emergency.
Rule#5: Powers are to be used in emergency situations if agreed upon only by the governing council with final approval of the King and Queen of Votovia.

The Votovians were all hoping they would never have to use their powers. Their powers collectively were so strong they could destroy everyone in their path. They were a peace-loving people, and this did not come easy for them, but they would do whatever they had to do to protect their children and the children of their friends in Sovorotskina and any of the other neighboring villages.

I will let you discover on your own ‘THE LEGEND OF THE TAKEN ONES’. I highly recommend Gateskin Chronicles, Book 1. Author Janice Spina always has valuable lessons in her storylines, which make her stories true ‘Jems’. Janice has written 19 children’s books and has multiple series, for ages 10 and up.

Review by Theodocia McLean (Book Marketing Global Network).
Author’s Page at Book Marketing Global Network:

If you haven’t begun the adventure with Gateskin and company, now is the time to begin. Book 2 is already out there too.

Thank you so much for stopping by to read this review. Come back again soon for more posts about whatever pops into my mind.

Blessings & Hugs! Stay Safe, Stay Well and God Bless!


Janice Spina aka J.E. Spina

Award-Winning Author

Jemsbooks for All Ages!







About jjspina

Janice is an multi-award-winning author with 41 books: 20 children's books for PS-Gr 4, 12 middle-grade/preteen, two young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and 6 novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her books have received 33 Book Awards and a few finalists awards. All Janice's books are available on, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on book 3 of a YA fantasy series an and book 2 in an angel series. There will be six books in all in this series. She hopes to work on a series of four books in a crime/mystery genre that will be offsprings of her thriller, Hunting Mariah. There are books in the works about a dog for ages YA. Her hobbies are crocheting, sewing, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, tap dancing, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in book award, Book Excellence Awards, epic fantasy, fantasy, New Fantasy Series, The Legend of the Taken Ones (Gateskin Chronicles Book 1), Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels, YA fantasy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Legend of the Taken Ones: Gateskin Chronicles Book 1 won a Book Excellence Award Finalist!

  1. Darlene says:


  2. Fine job, Janice! This is so cool.

  3. noelleg44 says:

    Another jewel for your crown, which is very bejeweled!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.