This year – 2022 – began once again with COVID restrictions. Masks were still worn for the first few months of the year and thereafter things became less stringent. By April we were mostly free to try to get back to normal with some exceptions – masks were still worn in medical offices, hospitals and facilities.

My plan for 2022 was to publish four books, possibly books 2 & 3 in the fantasy series of Gateskin Chronicles Book. Life plays tricks on us, sometimes keeping us from our best laid plans. At this writing as of April I am working on Book 2 in this series and soon will be in the editing stages. I hope to complete it and send it along to my beta readers for their eagle eyes.

A couple other stories are floating around in my which I plan to jot down after Book 2 is published. I like to change things up by jumping around in different genres. This fantasy is an epic production and can be quite exhausting with the myriad characters, spells, and good again evil situations.

These two new stories are vying to get my attention – two completely different genres from fantasy series. Watch for them in 2022 and 2023.

Make Believe (Bedtime Stories for Children) was published in June 2022.

Book 2 Gateskin Chronicle The Unknown Territory was published in July 2022

Watch for Books 3-6 of this fantasy series coming over the next couple of years 2023 and beyond.



This newsletter is a way to let you know what’s new to Jemsbooks.

Janice hopes that 2022 was a healthier and safer year for everyone.

This is what transpired in 2022.

In January Mom’s Choice Awards awarded a Silver Medal to The First Star, a children’s book, fairy tale.

In February a Readers’ Favorite Book Awards reviewer gave 5 Stars in her review of The Legend of the Taken Ones (Gateskin Chronicles Book 1)! Here is the review:

Reviewed By Emily-Jane Hills Orford for Readers’ Favorite
Within the Territory of Noella Provence, there was a kingdom, Sovorotskina, known as the Land of Goodness and Light. It was ruled by the great wizard King Gateskin and his fairy queen wife, Solinara. They had three children, Serena, Simon, and Catalina, all with special magical powers. They had to keep the magic secret as there was an evil power in a nearby kingdom, in the land of Parotovina, the Land of Darkness. This evil power once stole an entire village’s children to claim the magic for their own people, to use this magic for evil. When King Gateskin is kidnapped, Serena and her siblings combine their powers and resources, enlisting the help of a new friend, a Sprite by the name of Spindle, to rescue the king as well as the descendants of those “taken” children. 

Janice Spina’s young adult novel, The Legend of the Taken Ones, is the first book in a six-book fantasy series, The Gateskin Chronicles. With an exciting plot full of magic and the conflicting powers of good and evil, this story is a real page-turner. The story begins with background information on the taken ones, the children kidnapped by the evil powers of Parotovina. Knowing that evil continues to lurk nearby, the magical kingdom of King Gateskin is always on high alert. The adventure truly begins when the king is kidnapped and the children set out on a journey of their own, intent on rescuing their father and leader. This is an epic, high-fantasy adventure that follows in the time-tested style of Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings: the ongoing battles between good and evil and the true magic that is found within one’s heart and in the bonds of family and friendship.

              This fantasy series will have six books in all. Books 2-6 will be published in 2022-2024. This is an epic fantasy that will have myriad characters, lands, creatures and magical adventures. It is for ages 13-17+ but adults enjoy it too.

In April Drystan the Dragon and Friends Series Book 1 Drystan and Durward Save the Day received a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award!

In June a new series was started with Make Believe (Bedtime Stories for Children). There will be more of these which will include 6 stories in each book illustrated by my husband, John. This is the first book in a series of bedtime stories for children that can also be enjoyed at any time of the day. Perfect for early readers too!

In July Janice published The Unknown Territory (Gateskin Chronicles Book 2)

The Adventures continue!

In August these two books received awards from TOP SHELF AWARDS. Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series Book 4: The Case of the Brown Scraggly Dog won a First Place Award.

Drystan the Dragon and Friends Book 1: Drystan and Durward Save the Day won a Runners-up Award.

In October Janice published the first in a paranormal series: The Misunderstood Angel: Branyrd the Angel Book 1. Watch for more books coming in this series in 2023 and 2024.

Thank you for stopping by to read this newsletter. There will be more books coming over the next few years to entertain you. If you would like to know about new books, deals and giveaways, follow Janice on

She loves to hear from readers and welcomes reviews wherever you purchase her books.

Purchase Links:


Barnes & Noble:

Please leave reviews for all books that you read. We indie authors will love you for these reviews. Reviews are how Amazon rates our books and chooses which ones to promote.

Watch for new books coming in 2023 & beyond.

Thank you so much for your support. Keep reading and I will keep writing!

Reading Gives You Wings to Fly! Soar with all year through!

Happy Reading Everyone!

Blessings & Hugs!

Janice Spina aka J.E. Spina