Watch for Book 2 of Gateskin Chronicles coming in July 2022!

I am excited to continue to edit and prepare Book 2 of Gateskin Chronicles for you to enjoy in July. It has been an epic undertaking to begin this series. I had no idea what I was getting myself into! Phew! I had never done an epic fantasy series before. I may never do another one after these six books are completed.

If you haven’t read Book 1 yet, please check it out before reading Book 2 or you won’t know what is going on. There are myriad characters who keep popping up in each book wanting to have their say. They are driving me insane. I put a list of characters in the front of the book, so readers won’t get confused. It’s like Star Wars – I still don’t know all the characters in that series. I can never keep them straight, but I love all the stories! Don’t you? I am not saying my series is anything like Star Wars! Nothing like it at all. I am just comparing that there are so many characters in each. Don’t want you to get the wrong idea that I am tooting a horn and declaring my series as the next Star Wars or Lord of the Rings! Ha! I wish they were!

There will not be any foul language in any of these books or any explicit material. I guess you can call this series PG13 as most of the movies nowadays have something in them even at this rating.


This is Book 1 of a fantasy series that will have six books in all. In this book learn about the three children of King Gateskin and his wife, Queen Solinara. The children have had powers since they were quite young.

Serena was three years old when she learned of her power to move objects with her mind. Her brother, Simon, can fly and their sister, Catalina, can become invisible or blend into her surroundings. They live with their parents in Sovorotskina, the Land of Light.

With these powers comes responsibility. The children must try to use their powers for the common good and responsibly to help others. The three children befriend a Sprite named Spindle who accompanies them on their adventure. Along the way they meet up with their aunt and uncle, their mother’s brother and his wife, Wizard Hotenfaran and Fairy Procelina. The group must travel into the evil land of Parotovina, Land of Darkness, to save King Gateskin, who was kidnapped, and also rescue some of the descendants of their friends and fellow Sovorotskinans who were captured and taken by the Evil Ones. These descendants have been waiting a long time to be free to return to the villages of their ancestors.

The children have many trials and adventures along the way. Will they be able to rescue their father and fellow Sovorotskinans without endangering their own lives? Will the evil King Kaposkaran and his Queen Beregina stop Serena and her siblings from being successful or will they turn Serena and her siblings to their dark ways?

Here are some reviews from Amazon in the form of Gifs from

Here is the book trailer I created recently on I hope you like it!

Thank you so much for stopping by to read this post. I hope you will check out this epic fantasy series soon before the second book is here. Get into the adventures with all these characters who you will either love or hate. There are both kinds found in this series. It is good against evil all the way! Watch for a cover reveal soon created by my husband, John.

Blessings & Hugs! Stay Safe, Stay Well and God Bless!


Janice Spina aka J.E. Spina

Award-Winning Author

Jemsbooks for All Ages!







About jjspina

Janice is an multi-award-winning author with 42 books: 20 children's books for PS-Gr 4, 12 middle-grade/preteen, two young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and 7 novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her books have received 36 Book Awards and a few finalists awards. All Janice's books are available on, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on book 3 of a YA fantasy series an and book 2 in an angel series. There will be six books in all in this series. She hopes to work on a series of four books in a crime/mystery genre that will be offsprings of her thriller, Hunting Mariah. There are books in the works about a dog for ages YA. Her hobbies are crocheting, sewing, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, tap dancing, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in Gateskin Chronicles Book 1, New book coming from Jemsbooks, The Legend of the Taken Ones, Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Watch for Book 2 of Gateskin Chronicles coming in July 2022!

  1. noelleg44 says:

    Sounds wonderful!!!

  2. Jan Sikes says:

    How exciting! Congrats, Janice!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.